Make a Reservation
Best Rate Guarantee >>
Arrive Nights
Special Offers Special Offers Special Offers Special Offers

Hotel Ennis Clare

Trip Advisor review 1 October 2013

Recently stayed in the temple gate hotel. This was our second visit there this year. I cannot praise the staff in the hotel enough. They are so friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel is also very good value. The hotel is located a minute from the centre of town so it's extremely convenient. We will be back. Teresa k

 

Trip Advisor review 22 September 2013

We had a lovely week here and were very impressed with the friendly professional service we received throughout our holiday. This hotel in right in the centre of Ennis and therefore you will not need a car to visit the local sites or go out at night which is really helpful.

The rooms are clean and nice. There is plenty of space for three adults. There was plenty of choice in the breakfast menus and they were all lovely. The Preachers Bar is great with nice pub grub and often great music too. I would definitely recommend it.

 

Trip Advisor review 18 September 2013

Only spent one night here while on a CIE Tour. We found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating. Surely would have enjoyed more time. The town was delightful with many shops to explore. My husband and I enjoyed an early morning walk- my excuse to photograph the town without dodging people. The town was pristine and lovely. Would love to return someday.

 

Trip Advisor review 16 September 2013

My wife and I and a friend spent one night here and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is
located right in the heart of Ennis one half block from its main thoroughfare. Was very impressed
with the hotel with internet available throughout the hotel. The Preacher's Pub was outstanding
with great food as well as drinks. Would come here again.

 

Trip Advisor review 9 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We were meeting with relative’s home from America and this was a convenient location for all of us to meet. We found the staff very friendly and efficient. We eat in the bar while watching the All-Ireland Hurling Final. The food was very good and piping hot, as you would expect. The room was comfortable and spacious. In the morning we all had the Full Irish cooked breakfast. There was also a good selection of breads, cereals and fruit. The hotel is located in what used to be a convent and is tastefully decorated to enhance the arches and other beautiful features of the former convent. My American relatives were very impressed, also, with the decor. We will be back.

 

Trip Advisor review 1 September 2013

Just stayed for one night but wished it could have been longer. The hotel is ideally located near everything that matters in Ennis. There is secure parking at the hotel & the centre is a mere one minute walk from the Hotel. The bar is staffed by smartly dressed young people who provide a great service with a smile. The food is also very good in the bar but if you want to try elsewhere there are lots of other places within short walking distance. The breakfast is excellent & again there is great variety & nothing seems to be a problem for the pleasant waitresses. Last but not least, the accommodation is spacious, clean & comfortable with very good en-suite. I will look forward to returning to the Templegate.

 

Trip Advisor review 29 August 2013

It was a rainy day and we were trying to get from the DinglePeninsula to the Cliffs of Mohr. However, we decided to stay in Ennis and just wait on the weather. The people at the TempleGate were fabulous, as was our room. The hotel was originally a convent and the decor, Gothic arches, stained glass windows and beautiful wood added to the ambiance. It was a perfect location and respite from the rain as well as B&Bs (where we wouldn't have felt as comfortable just lounging around the day watching TV). Claire, at the front desk, went out of her way to make our stay special.

 

Trip Advisor review 27 August 2013

Stayed in The Temple Gate for 3 nights over the Aug bank holiday weekend with my husband. The location is amazing just off the Main Street.
Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was spotless with a nice view over looking the court yard. Ate in bar on 2 nights which was tasty.
Ennis is a lovely place to go out in with lots of nice bars and restaurants. It is a great base for sightseeing around Clare. Would recommend The Temple Gate Hotel.

 

Trip Advisor review 27 August 2013

A very good welcome after a long day flying & a full day’s work. Good room & really nice staff, the menu was not over long & choice was just right .Breakfast really set me up for the days tasks. Did not need to eat again all day.

 

Trip Advisor review 26 August 2013

We called in here on the off-chance of a twin room - the Ennis Tourist Office is closed on Mondays.... The receptionist was wonderfully helpful, a real professional and she loves her job too!! Our twin room was very clean, functional and literally 2 seconds walk from the one-way streets of Ennis. The hotel is a former convent and there are still indications of its' previous life - very evocative. Neither of us could fully partake of the breakfast spread which looked appetising, and the hot selection was freshly cooked to order. Would definitely visit again - and hopefully stay well enough to enjoy a breakfast!

 

Trip Advisor review 25 August 2013

The TempleGate is right in the downtown of Ennis on a square. The rooms are pleasant and well decorated, the staff nice and the location great. The best find is that the pub attached to the hotel, Preacher’s Pub, has excellent food.

 

Trip Advisor review 22 August 2013

My wife and i stayed in the Temple Gate Hotel for two nights last weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Very pleasant and friendly staff, beautiful clean and comfortable rooms and great food. We will be back Terry.... Co Meath

 

Trip Advisor review 19 August 2013

We just returned from a road trip in Ireland and stayed at the temple gate for two nights as it was close to the attractions and airport. Upon check in my group of 5 (4 rooms) were all upgraded to the Executive floor. I had emailed quite a bit with this hotel before choosing it and I was not disappointed. The staff was friendly and very helpful. breakfast was great and the stay could not have been better. The Hotel is within walking distance to shops, restaurants and of course pubs. Outstanding value. We would stay here again!!

 

Trip Advisor review 12 August 2013

Absolutely wonderfully lovely hotel, ideal situation for the town, very friendly and helpful staff, the restaurant was excellent, very good value, can highly recommend this family run hotel. Should be a five star hotel as other people have commented. Our room was very comfortable. Would love to return one day again. especially special is the chapel which looks ideal for weddings.

 

Trip Advisor review 12 August 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel - very near to everything in the centre of town. Ennis is a very charming town near ShannonAirport also near the Cliffs of Moher. Our room was large (two twin beds), very nice and clean. Restaurant was great for breakfast. The pub looked very nice but we were too tired from traveling to experience it. Staff was very pleasant. This hotel was recently renovated. Would definitely recommend this to others!

 

Trip Advisor review 11 August 2013

Stayed at the TempleGate for two nights in April 2013. This hotel is in an excellent central location in Ennis, close to the city centre and next door to a large shopping complex. Hotel staff were more than accommodating. Rooms were large and spotless. The pub on premises has superb food and a great atmosphere. Would stay here again and recommend the place highly.

Trip Advisor review 6 August 2013

Really nice hotel right beside Ennis Main Street. Staff were helpful, room was very nice and breakfasts were great too. Lovely wooden ceilings in some of the areas of the hotel e.g. bar. Difficult to find fault with this establishment and I can certainly recommend it for a stay in Ennis. 

 

"Great hotel - relaxed stay" 

I stayed at this hotel recently on a business trip. The reception staff were very helpful. My room was a little chilly when I arrived in the early evening but I rang reception and this was quickly rectified. The room was very clean and comfortable, just perfect after a very long day, travelling to Ireland early morning and then working. It was also nice and quiet despite looking onto the square.
The shops were nearby especially a Dunnes store which stayed open till late, very handy should you need anything.
I ate in the bar both evenings, the food was really nice especially the chowder with Irish Soda Bread and the Baileys Cheesecake Mmm! 
Breakfast was in the main restaurant, there was a variety of cereal, fruit and juices. Also a choice for cooked breakfast. 
I would definately recommend this hotel. 

Trip Advisor (Trip Advisor February 2013)

 

"Great Hotel - excellent service"

I had to travel last Sunday in order to be in Ennis for an early Monday meeting so I was already grumpy when I arrived. The receptionist politely ignored this grumpiness, went out of her way to get me checked in quickly and efficiently and was always pleasant and professional.
The room was warm and pleasant, the meeting areas around reception are quiet and perfect for relaxing. The Hotel itself is located right in the heart of Ennis - one of a small number of towns in Ireland where a visit is absolutely mandatory. 

Trip Advisor (February 2013) 

 

"Comfortable hotel and friendly staff!"

Stayed here for one mid-week night when the hotel was understandably quiet. The bar had a good variety of dishes and the 8oz steak was very enjoyable. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly from the reception, bar and breakfast room the following morning. The ecclesiastical decor in the bar is a bit over the top but overall my experience was very good and I would recommend this hotel to others

Trip Advisor (February 2013)

 

Hi Kate!

Well we survived the weekend in Ennis!! Everyone had an amazing time!

I just want to thank you & the staff at the hotel for making our weekend so special! Everyone was so friendly & helpful. The food was amazing, the rooms & beds were comfy and the location was excellent!!We were all were all really impressed & will definitely stay again hopefully in the near future and recommend it to friends & family!

If you have a mailing list for special offers would you please include my email address?

Hotel guest (January 2013)

 

“Best Value in Ennis”

The hotel is right bang in the middle of Ennis. It is next to the Clare Museum and the main street just at the foot of Daniel O' Connell's statue. Secure parking and very welcoming lobby. Check in was quick and we were in our room in 5 minutes. Room was immaculate and cosy. We ate twice in the hotel. Once during the day for bar food which was nice and light, and also at night for their Dinner Special. This was fabulous value. Four courses for €20.13. I know that this was a special offer, but the was no sparing in the effort made.
The hotel has some lovely touches that impressed. The library was a relaxing room for a read or a coffee. The long room is an old chapel that has been converted in to a conference/wedding venue with magnificient stained glass windows. It is on the site of a Poor Claire's nunnery and retains some of the original features.
We had lovely two day stay and would recommend it highly to family and friends.

Trip Advisor (February 2013)

 

“Great food and service” 

We had dinner on Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed it. My better half is vegetarian but really enjoyed her entire meal which is certainly not always the case in other establishments especially when the veggie options are more limited. I had a lamb dish which incorporated breaded goats cheese balls and was truly delicious! The service is excellent from the restaurant manager and his team who are attentive but not overbearing. Very well run by all involved. We have eaten in this restaurant before but I never reviewed it so this is the first! I would recommend it to anyone and also Preachers pub next door in the hotel. Just a note, there is an amazing offer in place for January 2013 of a 4 course meal for just €20.13 per person! 

Trip Advisor (January 2013)

 

"best hotel we stayed in yet"

stay for our honeymoon on the 17/1/13 until 20/1/13, fabulous hotel wonderful staff and the food OMG, was exceptional, so much so we ate there all the time. the rooms are brilliantly equipped hair dryer ironing board etc. (maybe a bit to warm) .. really and truly couldn't fault the place. the hotel itself is very central in the town and it has its own parking.. would highly recommend this hotel to all.

 Trip Advisor (January 2013)

 

"Top class food and service" 

went to meet friends and had dinner from the 2013 special menu. could not fault it,it was exceptional value and top quaility. the service was outstanding and i will definitly be back and would recommend to everyone in ennis to give it a go you will not be dissappointed....... 

Trip Advisor (January 2013)

 

"Couldn't fault it"

Stayed for a Hen weekend last weekend and couldn't fault the place. There was a number of girls there for 2 nights, a few of us could only make it for one night and they only charged us per person instead of per room which was great!
Very reasonably priced, we got b&b and a 3 course dinner which was delicious. The wait staff were lovely, especially Jim from Malaysia...he was so friendly and helpful!!!
The brekkie was delicious. Very central location so within walking distance for everything!!Would definitely recommend it!

 Trip Advisor (January 2013)

 

"Great value hotel with wonderful staff"

The Temple Gate is a great value hotel right in the heart of a great small town on the west of Ireland. Check in was a breeze, the room was cozy and bright, parking was free, and wifi was available right throughout the hotel for free. Being so central means you can visit the many bars in town for a pint, and enjoy the traditional music sessions without worrying about the cost of a taxi fare back to an out of town hotel. 
Breakfast the next morning was filling and set us up for the journey ahead. I highly recommend Ennis as a great tourist spot, and strongly recommend the Temple Gate as a great place to stay for your trip.

 Trip Advisor (Decemeber 2012)

 

"Lovely staff and good food"

I only stay for one nght for business, but i must admit the welcome was great and so was the food. Room are clean and proably been updated recently, Will definetly stay there the next time.Hope to revisit the place in january 2013.

Trip Advisor (December 2012)

 

Hi Kate

Apologies for being so tardy in dropping a note to say "thank you" yet again for the customary hospitality shown by all at The Temple Gate - one of these days perhaps we'll meet in person!.  It was a memorable trip and one that will linger long in the memory.Say hello to Dermot for me (I think it was Dermot - one of your managers) - he was most helpful - most appreciated.

 

Kind regards

Tom (Hotel Guest November 2012)

 

 

"Great Location"

This hotel is "town central." Everything is close by/walking distance. We actually had dinner in the hotel at the pub and found it much better than we experienced elsewhere -- plus the atmosphere was great! There was a hurling match in town and many of the players were there -- great fun. The rooms were very comfortable (king bed!) and there is good wifi reception. Overall the staff was very accomodating, especially Natasha, who took extra care with our requests. If you plan on visiting the Cliffs of Moher, this is a good base. Also, if arriving from an international flight and sleep deprived, Ennis is a short drive.

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

 “Consistent comfort and hospitality, THE place to stay in Ennis”

In the last 5 years I have stayed 6 times at the Temple Gate Hotel and find it to be comfortable and welcoming every single time. My recent November 2012 visit was no exception. Its central location makes it perfect for exploring and town and environs. On site parking is a plus. The staff are pleasant and accommodating to special requests, e.g. storing bags, flexible check in/out, tips for nearby restaurants and services. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Preachers pub has a good all day menu with variety of dishes at decent prices. The recent addition of free wifi in all guest rooms seals the deal.

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

 “Great service and overall standards!”

We recently stayed in this hotel for one night. From the moment we walked through the door until the moment we left we were made to feel so welcome. We found our room to be excellent and the bed was super comfortable. What makes this place so special is the friendly staff and the very welcoming atmosphere. The food served in the bar ( we didn't have a chance to try the fine dining restaurant but will certainly try that on our next visit) as well as breakfast the next morning was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the lovely town of Ennis and we will certainly be back!

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

“Superb stay at a wonderful hotel, lovely Irish experience”

We spent the weekend at this lovely, cosy hotel. Very nice interior, and excellent high quality food at Preachers restaurant, with beautiful plates, sirloin steaks from the region, burren smoked salmon and great wine collection.


Next to that the staff has been wonderful to us and we have enjoyed every single minute of our stay. Definitely back here with more trips to the cliffs of moher and the Burren.

 Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

"Surprising stay"

A recent short notice trip resulted in me booking this little gem of a hotel at short notice.

From the phone call booking to the pleasant reception on arrival, I couldn't have been made more welcome. I felt they were falling over me to ensure I had all I needed.
The room was just fantastic, warm and welcoming.
I decided to try the Preachers bar for dinner( I had been given a 10% discount voucher on arrival)
Again, the staff we very warm and welcoming, the food was just great. the atmosphere was pleasant and the background music relaxing.
Breakfast next morning was freshly made from a choice selection, with plenty of tea and coffee and fresh fruits and hot baked goods.
I was so impressed, I plan to bring my wife very soon to this gem of a hotel.

 Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

"Friendly, attentive staff and great central location in Ennis"

Stayed for a long weekend during the Ennis Trad Festival. Excellent central location for exploring the town. Clean & tidy hotel with pleasant, friendly staff.
Our double room was on the 3rd floor and was an adequate size with a comfortable bed and tidy modern decor. 
Food served both in the Preacher's Bar and in the restaurant was of a good standard and reasonably priced. 
Very pleasant stay. Would recommend.

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

We throughly enjoyed our recent stay with you. We had a long overnight drive from Wales and your staff were very helpful in getting the room ready for us. We stayed with you for three nights, during which time the staff were very pleasant and accommodating, nothing was too much for them. The food was great and the rooms were spotless. Overall it was fantastic and we would not hesitate in staying again.

Many thanks,

Hotel guest (November 2012)

 

 "Great location, lovely hotel"

Stayed here for 1 night. The hotel is very centrally located, only a minute from O'Connell Street. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. There was free parking too. We had a very enjoyable stay!

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

"Central, brill weekend"

Stayed in this hotel Sat night 6th October with a group of girls. Rooms were beautiful and spotlessly clean. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and you couldn't possibly get any more central !!! Will definately be returning for another stay.

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

"Weekend perfection"

Temple gate hotel -what a treat - bedrooms so comfy!!!! Duck down duvet, dressing gowns etc.

Bar/bar food - staff were excellent even though they were extremely busy - they were good craic.
Crock of Mussels -mmmmmmmmm delicious, chicken lovely and tender..
Reception staff were lovely and very helpful. The night porter had probably the busier job of he weekend yet he was pretty much unfazed -well done staff f Temple Gate Hotel!!!

 Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 
"Clean and new"
 
Arriving in Ennis not having booked anywhere to stay we stumbled across the Temple Gate hotel and were able to book a room at a reasonable price. It was a change from the B & B's we had been staying in with minimalist decor. The hotel has a luxurious feel with very comfortable beds and fluffy towels. Breakfast was included and was adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

"Wonderful wedding venue"

I visited this hotel for the first time in march for my cousins wedding and from the minute we entered the hotel i was impressed with the place the great hall is amazing the staff were were very accommodating no matter what we asked for we got. also there was a cake for a family birthday which we brought along and the manager brought it out in great time. a wonderful day and night was had by all. thank you to all the staff in the temple gate hotel for a fantastic stay and i shall be back. And not to forget the very comfortable rooms. Guys and Girls you all do a brilliant job and keep up the hard work

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

"Hen night"

We had my sisters hen night on Oct 6th and we stayed in Temple gate 24 of us. We had a fantastic experience here, hotel is well located in the centre of Ennis.Rooms are lovely Staff are brilliant everyone was so friendly and helpful. We had evening meal which was divine and then we did a cocktail making class which was mighty fun. Highly recommend the hotel we had a brill weekend.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

“Dinner”

Our group of 4 were so well treated by a fabulous Italian waiter on Tuesday night 9th October this year. The food was to die for and the service and value were beyond words. An excellent night was had by all

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

“Great Hotel, Best staff ever.”

    We were on a group weekend away. The location of the hotel is the best in Ennis, accessible parking and the hotel is in the centre of the town. The staff were brilliant and did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)
 
 
 
"Lovely hotel, great food"

Stayed here on a Saturday had a lovely day in the Hotel we had lunch in the bar and then had dinner in the hotel restaurant the food was fab, the rooms are lovely, staff very friendly, would recommend this hotel.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)
 
 
"Very relaxing"

we stayed in this hotel Friday & Saturday and the first thing i noticed was the reception staff who were very pleaesent and entusiastic, the room was of a very high standard. The bar was very spacious and the barfood excellent. This is the 1st time we have been in Ennis and this hotel and we cant wait to go back next year.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)
 
 
"A Wonderful Experience"

Seven Adults + two Babies and a most wonderful experience in dining in Legends Restaurant- the Restaurant of the Templegate Hotel, Ennis, Co. Clare, tonight 6th. October 2012. All of us had wonderful starters and main courses and desserts. Speaking for myself, I had delicious Cod in a Saffron and White Wine Sauce - succulent. Thank God for a change of Vegetables from Brocolli, Cauliflour and Carrots, served in so many restaurants - tonight was celery and courgettes, with baby potatoes. The only complaint that I would have is, I couldn't eat the plate. The rest of the party had sirloin steaks, cooked exactly to their requirements and the look of pleasure on their faces, showed satisfaction of the highest order. All this was" washed" down with very reasonably priced Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. On arrival we were welcomed by the charming and friendly Catherine ( Receptionist ) and then by Antonio ( Maitre'D of the highest standards and friendliness ) and served by Michael from Belmullet ( oozing in efficiency and friendliness ). There was another Lady and Gent served us too, but unfortunately I didn't get their names, but part of this highly efficient and friendly team. All this was supervised by the very " Hands - on " Owner Mr. John Madden. Thank You for a wonderful Meal and wish you continued success.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

“Best-located Hotel in Ennis, Best Staff in Ireland”

Stayed here Saturday night with visitors from the USA. Was an short taxi ride to our medieval banquet in Knappogue Castle (Quin), and a perfect place to land on a Saturday, as it is a 1min walk to the beautiful, winding streets of Ennis. Market on a Saturday in the market place. Buzzing with activity. Hotel itself is amazing. On the site of an old church, so stained glass window still on site, hotel bar named Preachers Pub also decorated on same church theme. Rooms super clean and modern, tasteful decor. Cooked breakfast top notch. Reception staff exceptionally helpful, especially on Sunday, when the tourist office across the street was closed! Wished we had stayed longer!

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

"Very nice place to stay"

 We only stayed one night in Ennis, but the Temple Gate Hotel proved to be a very good choice. It is a hotel and not an inn, but the scale is fairly small and the property is very well maintained. We found the staff professional and friendly and the rooms very comfortable. We only ate a lunch meal in the pub and it was good. Definitely a good stay and recommend to anyone not looking for a B&B experience.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

"Coach trip"

Recently 38 of us from our Active Retirement Group travelled to Co Clare with JMG Travel of Donegal using this hotel as our base. What an excellent choice, such an agreeable staff, such comfort in the rooms and such enjoyable menus. The hotel itself was previously a church, the building is so interesting and the receptionist is more than willing to give out some printed information on the history of the building. The hotel is very conveniently situated to the town and the Clare Museum is in the next building so no lack of things to do close at hand.

Trip Advisor (September 2012)

 

"Family Owned First Rate Attention to Weary Traveller"

We flew from San Francisco to Boston into Shannon Airport and stayed at the Temple Gate for a couple of nights upon our arrival in Ireland. They knew we had flown all night and were able to give us an early check-in, at no extra charge, and treated us like family from the start. The owner John Madden or son Paul were on-site regularly and Catherine, Kate and Graem took great care of us. The pub was lively, the restaurant convenient and served good food, and when we returned at the end of our trip, it was like a homecoming! Lovely hotel, close to Shannon Airport, great staff.

Trip Advisor (September 2012)

 

"Good hotel centre of town"

Myself and my wife stayed here in may.A very good hotel in the centre of town. There is plenty of free parking in front of the hotel.Reception staff were friendly and offered us tickets to a show in town.The room was excellent.Food was very good especially in the bar.The hotel is just off the main street and 25 minutes to the seaside.Overall a great place to stay

Trip Advisor (September 2012)

 

We had dinner the Legends Restaurant last Saturday night for our sisters 30th birthday. Having never eaten there before I was nervous as of what to expect.  Although we were seated in the main restaurant, it felt like we had our private function room. The food was superb and best of all the staff were very attentive and courteous. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and will definitely return again.Thank you

Dining guest (September 2012)

 

"Excellent food - great service- nice staff"

 Have eaten here on a few occasions. Food is lovely and very fresh. Lovely atmosphere in Restaurant, nice decor, very comfortable. Italian waiter so pleasant! This restaurant is within the Temple Gate Hotel which is in the centre if town. Would recommend for the food and the pleasant surroundings. Nice bar atmosphere also with lovely staff and very good bar food also. 

Trip Advisor (Septemeber 2012)

 

“FANTASTIC!!!!!”

I was staying in Ennis with friends & they suggested we visit Legends restaurant in the Temple Gate hotel. We got there early to enjoy a few drinks in the bar which was lovely, the staff were all very polite, friendly & nice to deal with and advised us when our table was ready and brought through our drinks for us. We had ordered from the set menu & didnt expect anything amazing but it really was fantastic. I ordered the soup which was beautiful & filling, and my husband ordered the chowder and he said it was one of the best he had tasted!! We then both ordered steak for our mail and they were both cooked to perfection. The dessert's were also beautiful but unfortunately thanks to the steak being so wonderful I was too full & couldnt finish mine!! The staff were really fantastic & very attentive, the restaurant manager Antonio looked after us all night and had a wealth of knowledge about all the different wine's they stocked, my husband was delighted with this.

Overall our experience with both the hotel & Legends restaurant was nothing short of perfect, wonderful food, amazing staff, beautiful setting - nothing more we could ask for, we will definitley be back, thanks

Tip: Ask Antonio to recommend wine to go with your choice of food, he really knows what he is talking about.

Trip Advisor (September 2012)

 

"Lovely staff and food"

Stayed here at the weekend, was lovely hotel centrally located in the town centre, lovely staff, great food in the Legends restaurant, nice decor and clean room 
Will stay again and would recommend this to anyone
Free parking aswell which is good for town centre hotel
Special thanks to Kate for looking after us and Catherine(i think on reception) both very nice.

Trip Advisor (September 2012)

 

"What a pleasure"

I stayed in your beautiful  hotel from august 3 to 8th from the United States.Your staff are superb.I sleep in a chair, your people brought a chair from the library to my room making my nights sleep a pleasure.(sleeping in the library was great to).The ladies in the breakfast room were always useful with great service.the Temple Gate was so clean I was envious. Your front desk staff could  just good a person to believe life was a bowl of cherries. The night gentleman had a way of making a weary non sleeper feel I was right at home.The Preachers Pub was a merry place to rest up before and after daily rigors out and about(plus there were no preachers there). There was a girl who came in early in the morning whom I asked if she lived at the hotel,she answered that she had a shack in the back alley,her wit was a pleasure to a fast tongued guy like me( I can get a wise crack out before your next breath). So as my last day came to pass and an employee said good by to me I realized I will not believe there are good byes at Temple Gate, just happiness and good health to all.

Hotel guest (August 2012)

 

"Excellent Hotel"

 We booked for 3 days but enjoed our stay so much we stayed on another two. The location of the hotel is superb - right in the middle of the town with free parking for guests. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby but it would hard to find better than the hotel's own pub and restaurant. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are bright and clean and you will not find a more comfortable mattress anywhere! Fantastic hotel!!
Pat

Trip Advisor (August 2012)

 

"Excellent hotel in a lovely little town"

 I recently stayed at the Temple Gate Hotel and really enjoyed it. It is a very nice hotel, in a great location. 
The staff were very friendly. Very nice and clean rooms. A very convenient parking was available for our car at no extra charge. Breakfast was very good. There are a pub and a restaurant on the premises. We did not try the restaurant, but the pub was lovely: very nice food and great atmosphere.
I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore county Clare.

Trip Advisor (August 2012)

 

Dear staff,

Having stayed in your hotel last week for two nights, we just wanted to write a quick note to thank you for making our stay a highly enjoyable and pleasant one.  The staff were so friendly and accommodating and the food in both the bar and the restaurant was of an extremely high quality. We greatly enjoyed our stay, and will certainly be back in the future and will have no hesitation in recommending the Temple Gate to friends and family.

Thanking you, 

Hotel Guests (August 2012) 

 

“Courteous staff and efficient management”

Stayed here with family and friends for three days this week. From the moment of check-in we were treated with the utmost efficiency.Ambience throughout is warm, and the general manager is a thorough professional. Looking forward to my next visit already.

Trip Advisor (Trip Advisor 2012)

 

“wonderful Hotel!”

My family have just spent a wonderful few days in Ireland, our first stop was in Ennis, we stayed at The temple Gate Hotel, what a lovely hotel! We thouroughly recommend staying here. The rooms are lovely and clean, the hotel staff are very friendly. The Poachers bar is a real treat if you want a bar snack and a drink. We didn't dine in the restaurant, but we had breakfast both mornings and again this was lovely. We will definately stay again!!

Trip Advisor (August 2012)

 

"I would go back there in a minute"

the temple gate hotel was *a dream* of a boutique hotel! the room was spic and span, spacious and welcoming, the bathroom nice and roomy.... the hotel is historically themed, the staff welcoming and efficient. we loved the pub, we loved the town of ennis -- it was a perfect first night's stay in ireland -- almost a honeymoon!

Trip Advisor (August 2012)

Refreshingly old-fashioned hotel in the really charming town of Ennis. Excellent restaurant too, with incredibly friendly staff.

Booking.com (July 2012)
 
 
"That extra mile"
 
My wife and I have been watching Eurovision every year since we first moved to Ireland in 1996. Some experiences, as well as the performances, better than others. This year was one of the better as we settled into the Preachers Pub for 7 hours of viewing over three nights.
The staff was very accommodating in keeping the TV sound at a level we could hear over the normal chatting crowd, that is a rarity for non-sporting events. They also participated with us and the few other watchers in commenting on the show. We felt very comfortable.
Of course the pints were good as well as the desserts we had. We have yet to eat a meal at this pub but are encouraged by what we saw on neighbouring tables. We will be back for sure, even before next May's Eurovision.
Trip Advisor (May 2012)


"Top Class Bar Food"
 
Preacher's Bar is nothing like your regular hotel bar and has a really nice decor and atmosphere. I have eaten here on a few occasions and have always enjoyed the food. I find it very convenient to meet friends for a chat and there is a very good selection on the menu. 
Last night I ate there and had chicken goujons which were delicious while my friend had a club sandwich which was massive.
Overall a very convenient place to eat in the centre of Ennis

Trip Advisor (May 2012)

 

"Perfect"

Hotel was very stylish and attractive. Fantastic location, just off the towns main street. Rooms were very cosy- clean and warm, beds very comfortable. No complaints at all.

Trip Advisor (July 2012)

 

"Pleasant Surprise"

 I booked this hotel after searching for accommodation in Ennis on the internet. In my experience it always looks better on the internet than in reality. This was the other way around. What a pleasant surprise: location, friendly reception, nice clean room with modern furnishings and more space than expected. We absolutely loved it and wished we could have stayed longer.

Trip Advisor (July 2012)

 

The staff was wonderful. Clare & Catherine at the front desk were exceptional. Location is ideal, very quiet yet in the charming old-town centre. Pubs, shops and centuries old architecture are right out the door. The decor is charming & European, not fancy but still very nice. I thought the price was quite reasonable. Fabulous, hearty breakfast is available, which I had every morning. Every morning a 1-hr walking tour left from the front of the hotel; I highly recommend taking it for its fascinating titbits of the town's history

Booking.com (July 2012)

 

”Great stay”

We were in the hotel as part of a Globus tour also and found the hotel clean, charming, and very comfortable. Not sure when others were at Temple Gate, but we did not experience any of the things others did at this hotel. The porters were incredibly quick with a huge amount of luggage on our trip. Our room was clean and well-appointed. The staff, with the exception of one front desk clerk, were all happy and quite helpful. Any question we had was answered kindly. 

The service in the pub and restaurant mirrored the service we had elsewhere in Ireland. Coming from the US we are accustomed to quicker service, but overall, there was nothing to complain about. The food in Preacher's Pub was outstanding! 

We stayed at 5 different hotels on this trip to Ireland and Temple Gate was one of my favourites!

Trip Advisor (July 2012) 

 

 “Great hotel”

My wife , sister in law and her husband stayed in the Temple Gate on Sat 30th Feb, the welcome we received was very friendly, check in was fast, the room was large and very clean , the decor was bright and warm, we had. A light meal in the bar, service was fast , food hot, the music in the. Bar was great , very lively and not to loud, the staff were very helpful and friendly, Claire at the front desk was very helpful, the hotel was so central to Ennis town , a few minutes walk from hotel, 
overall we had a great stay, would highly recommend the Temple Gate Hotel, will stay there again.

Trip Advisor (July 2012)

 

”Good hotel for first night in Ireland”

We drove here from the Shannon airport. The hotel was comfortable and clean.Kate at the front desk was helpful with directions. The hotel was close to groceries, pubs and coffee shops. It was an easy drive to make a loop to Cliffs of Moher, Doolin, Black head and back.

Trip Advisor (July 2012)

 

Loved the staff. Of all the accommodations I stayed at in Ireland I loved Temple Gate the most, mainly because of the staff. Staff gave clear direction on everything from where the main streets were to what was happening in the town during the week. Location was great, directly across from the tourism office. Free wi-fi in lobby. Room was always tidy and warm. Bar and restaurant attached to hotel

Booking.com (June 2012)

 

"Lovely, great location, extra great staff"

Hotel was formerly a convent and its character is maintained in function rooms, dining room, lobby and library. Well-marked as you approach it, parking lot, and courtyard that practically dumps you into the center of town. Food was good, rooms spacious but no frills. Family run the staff is terrific. We were there as a family and thoroughly enjoyed it.

 

Trip Advisor (June 2012)

 

Excellent location friendly staff. They offered us complimentary tickets to a show. Food in restaurant was good, Bar food very good. Room was excellent. Easy parking in front of hotel.

Bookig.com (June 2012)

 

Loved the staff. Of all the accommodations I stayed at in Ireland I loved Temple Gate the most, mainly because of the staff. Staff gave clear direction on everything from where the main streets were to what was happening in the town during the week. Location was great, directly across from the tourism office. Free wi-fi in lobby. Room was always tidy and warm. Bar and restaurant attached to hotel

Booking.com (June 2012)

 

“Wonderful stay!”

Ennis is a lovely town and well situated for visiting the Burren and the western coastal area. It is also a great town if you are looking for trad music. We had a delightful time there during the recent Fleadh Nua this May and stayed at Temple Gate. The hotel's car park is in the rear and from there the hotel looks unimpressive so we were initially a bit worried but it is actually a beautiful hotel and the rooms were quite comfortable and clean. The location is perfect - If you go out the side door you are right in the middle of city centre but the hotel is set back from the main street so we had no problem with noise. Our room rate did not include breakfast and we never ate in the restaurant so I cannot evaluate the food but the restaurant did come well recommended from people who live in the area.We had a minor problem with our room charge but our concern was taken seriously and quickly resolved and I am quite impressed with the customer service we received in resolving our complaint. I can highly recommend a visit to Ennis with a stay at Temple Gate.

 

Trip Advisor (June 2012)

 

 

“Delightful Find”

We stayed here accidentally as our plane was delayed in landing at Shannon. It was night time and we were tired, and the Temple Gate was a gem of a find in a charming town. Firstly, Ennis has a lot to offer, especially if you're arriving into Shannon and want something close to the airport. It was about 20 minutes away. The town has a lively and cozy vibe to it. The hotel, a converted convent, is in the perfect location because while it's in the heart of downtown Ennis, the courtyard set back off of main street prevents it from being noisy like some of the other establishments. Additionally, at every turn this hotel went above and beyond for us and made us feel like we were long awaited guests. LOCATION: Perfect-- we had looked at another hotel on main street and were so glad we didn't stay there-- too noisy. ROOMS: Yes, these were basic and comfortable. It was what we expected at a 3 star hotel. STAFF/SERVICE: A++. We had arrived late, no food available at the pubs except for potato chips, we went back to our hotel bar and the bartender very kindly offered to go back and make us some sandwiches. He exceeded expectations when he came back with the sandwiches, salads and chips-- we were so happy and so appreciative. Likewise, the waitress in the restaurant obliged us when we had overslept and missed the breakfast hours. Lastly, we felt the true hospitality when the proprietor, John Madden, went out of his way to sit down with us, plan out an itinerary for our drive north to Galway, make suggestions for restaurant stops and site seeing. This was on top of the fact that the night before, when he was on his way home, he saw that we needed help navigating from our parking spon on main street to the hotel parking lot (more challenging than you would think). He offered to drive us to our car and then lead us back to the hotel. By the time we got back, the front desk staff had already gotten everything ready so we could go right up to our room with no further delay. When you're travel weary and hungry and in a new town in a foreign country, you couldn't ask for better than the hospitality of the Temple Gate folks.

Trip Advisor (June 2012)

 

"Perfect weekend hotel"

The central location in Ennis is a great bonus, and it is surprisingly quiet for a town centre hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the food is good and plentiful, the rooms are comfortable. What more could you want? Thanks to all at Temple Gate for a lovely weekend

 

Trip Advisor (May 2012)

The Temple Gate Hotel is ideally situated close to the centre of Ennis Town. The Hotel is complimented by its easy access and with the Hotel carpark and the Council carpark just outside the door which also includes touring coach spaces.The Hotel has a very relaxing feel to it. When you enter bar with its split level timber floors you are struck by timber designs over the bar, walls and ceilings where you can see pitch pine timber reclaimed from old buildings including old churches with hundred of years of history used along side more modern timber to create a very relaxing feel while you eat and have a drink.Take a stroll from the bar to a cosy sitting room with a warm fire foe you to relax with friendly staff who took great care of you.10 Out of 10 Great stay.

Booking.com (May 2012)

 

 "Great Hotel"

Very large & plush room. Great bed, shower & breakfast. Ennis was a hidden treasure of a town!

Trip Advisor (May 2012)

 

“Wonderful wedding venue” 

We chose the Temple Gate as our wedding venue because of the location and the magnificent great hall. In the weeks running up to our wedding Geraldine was great with all our requests,from organising Scotish haggis on our menu. Every thing we asked to do was catered for, from having out first dance outside in the hotels court yard to putting out our favours for our guests.The Hall/function room was so well laid out for out meal. The hotel arranged the flowers on the top table and center pieces. The food was excellent and our friends have all been reminding us of what wonderful day and evening they all had. All the staff were so friendly and helpfull even in the small hours of the night and early in the morning. Thanks to all the staff who looked after us, Sarah and Dave.

Bridal Couple (April 2012)

 

“Very helpful and accommodating”

My sisters and I stayed at the Temple Gate while my father was in hospital in Ennis. The staff were so helpful and were very accommodating. From bringing us tea in the library, to accommodating our shifting schedule, they were happy to help. The hotel is in a pretty square, close to the centre of town. The pub in the hotel serves good hot meals. The hotel is not fancy, but it is clean and the beds were comfortable. If I had to go back to Ennis, I would stay there again.

Trip Advisor (April 2012)

 

“Central location with lovely staff”

I stayed here with a large group of friends for a birthday weekend and we enjoyed this hotel. The evening meal was delicious and enjoyed by all. Rooms excellent and hotel is right in the town centre. The staff were outstanding - so friendly and helpful. I would return to this hotel again.

Trip Advisor (April 2012)

 

“A darling town and a beautiful hotel/event venue”

Ennis is a wonderful place to visit and stay. The Temple Gate Hotel fits in perfectly as it is large and professional and clean and all that you expect in a nice hotel/venue, yet it doesn't feel like a big hotel in this quaint, darling town. Its just a short walk from the restaurants, boutiques and pubs. The rooms were updated and well cared for, the lobby and event space was comfortable, parking was free, the staff was very accomodating and the food was SPECTACULAR! The only slightly negative thing about our 3 night stay at the Temple Gate was that the wifi (which was FREE, what a great bonus!) was a little spotty/slow. We were part of a group of about 50 who were there for a wedding.... the reception was in the old sanctuary banquet space. What a LOVELY venue and the food and staff was truly remarkable.

Trip Advisor (April 2012)

 

"Wonderful experience"

This hotel is right in the centre of Ennis with free parking, free Wifi and easy access to the town. The service was friendly and the hotel was very cozy. Our room was pretty standard but was very clean and comfortable. We had dinner in Preacher's Pub which is the hotel bar which is absolutely lovely. This was one of my favorite hotels we stayed in during our trip to Ireland in 2012. I highly recommend it (and dinner in Preacher's).

Trip Advisor (April 2012)

 

"Food and Service excellent"

I stayed in the Temple Gate hotel recently and as the staff advised me and my family to have dinner in Legends Restaurant, I made a reservation at the desk. Staff were very friendly at check in. The menu had so many different courses, from Crispy Duck, to some local Salmon. I had the crispy Duck for my main course as Michael the waiter advised me it was one of the nicest main courses . Lets just say I never had a nicer Duck and as I have traveled far and wide I have a lot of experience of different foods, I feel that this restaurant has won me over. Legends would be in my top five with food and service me and my family good. The experience and the service Michael gave us was first class. Me and my family would recommend Legends restaurant if you wish to have a nice meal at a good price with excellent service.

Trip Advisor (April 2012)

 

I stayed there a couple of nights the first of March and then again the end of March.  Just wanted to comment on a lady, Kate, that was at the front desk during our stay.  She was WONDERFUL.  I've never had anyone be more knowledgeable and helpful.  Just wanted to say thank you for your assistance.

Hotel guest (April 2012)

 

“Nice Hotel”
 
Stayed at the Temple Gate while traveling with a tour group. Hotel was clean and staff friendly. Nice location right in the center of town Could easily walk anywhere you wanted to go. The pub located within the hotel was nice and offered good food at a reasonable price. Hotel was within walking distance to many pubs so drinking and driving was not an issue. Check in was a breeze and staff delivered our luggage within minutes of our arrival.Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends

Trip Advisor (April 2012)

 

The hotel was good and the bar food very good. Staff were very friendly and informative

Booking.com (April 2012)

 

Amazing architecture, excellent location, immaculate housekeeping, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Free car parking is a bonus.

Booking.com (April 2012)

 

“we save up to treat ourselves to dinner here”

dinner is astounding, staff are friendly , ambience is excellent.

Trip Advisor (April 2012)

 

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and great value for money. We really enjoyed our 3 night stay in The Temple Gate Hotel and would highly recommend it. Definitely a hotel we would return to.

Booking.com (March 2012)

 

Firstly we got an amazing deal with booking.com flashdeals! The room offer was for 24.50 euro. I booked it immediately, but had my reservations about it, as I couldn't believe we could possibly get a room for that price! I felt there had to be a catch! There wasn't!! The room was lovely, over-looking the court yard. The staff at reception were so helpful, friendly and obliging. We were so impressed. The location was perfect, and we enjoyed having a drink in the hotel's bar! We truely enjoyed our stay and will most certainly stay at the Temple Gate hotel again.

Booking.com (March 2012)

 

We had a wonderful time at the Temple Gate Hotel and the staff was very friendly and informative. We would highly recommend this hotel to all our family and friends.

Booking.com (March 2012)

 

We really enjoyed our stay.

Would have no qualms about recommending you to family and friends.

Regards

Jo 

Guest Feedback (March 2012)

 

“A Most Wonderful Meal and Wonderful Value”

Four of us dined in the Legends Restaurant in the TempleGate Hotel, Ennis and I must say it was excellent. Two of us had Breast of Duck, one had Chicken and the other had a Sirloin Steak - beautifully cooked and flavoured. We started with one having Duck Confit, two having Mushroom Brioche and myself having a Chicken Terrine with Parma Ham - Excellent Starters. Our Desserts were also mouth-watering all washed down with a very reasonably priced Cotes du Rhone. If that wasn't a complete meal of excellence, more was to come - price for the Dinner is 19.95 Euro with a 5 euro supplement for some of the courses e.g. Duck and Sirloin Steak. All this was served by a most friendly and efficient staff. We were in a hurry and after informing the staff of our dilemna, they had us out in perfect time - stress free and feeling great after a wonderful meal

Trip Advisor (March 2012)

 

Hi Siobhán,

On behalf of the Ennis Book Club Festival organising committee I wish to extend our thanks to all the staff at the Temple Gate Hotel for their hard work over the 2012 Festival weekend.  From the Reception and check-in staff to Graham and Natasha, professionalism and kindness was extended to our guests and Festival goers that was much appreciated and remarked upon.  

Ennis Book Club Festival (March 2012)

 

Second time I've stayed there with a group of friends to enjoy the Craic during an Ireland v Wales rugby match. Location is absolutely superb if you, like us, wanted to stay in Ennis for a few drinks. No taxi costs to consider. All staff very welcoming, particularly in the bar! Enjoyed my bar meal too. Free parking is good. Overall a great place to stay.

Booking.com (February 2012)

 

This is my favourite hotel in Ennis.  It's literally in the centre of town and within walking distance to every part of Ennis.  The hotel is lovely and the service is brilliant.  The staff is always very friendly and attentive.  The food is also amazing in the restaurant and pub.  They have two different menus as the pub serves classic pub food and has a carvery during lunch, while the restaurant is more upscale with some quite amazing dishes.   They also have a great brunch on the weekends.  Whenever I have friends or relatives come to town we have them stay here.

Yelp 

 

Paul,

Just a short note to thank you and all the staff of Temple Gate Hotel for your professionalism, kindness and support for our recent Chelsea Supporters Club function. Everything was great and in particular the food was excellent. Thanks again.

Ennis Chelsea Supporters Club

 

“Excellent Hotel”
 
We had a very pleasant stay in the hotel. It is ideally situated in the town of Ennis. It's in a quiet location but only a few steps from the town. The room was very comfortable. It does not have air conditioning, but that is rarely necessary in Ireland, and the windows open. The bar and the restaurant offer plenty of good eating options.If you need wifi in your room make sure that you book a room with that facility. It's free, but only on some floors until the planned refurbishment has completed. It's avai
What our guests say
Room upgrade
Signup for newsletter
Image Gallery
The Temple Gate Hotel, The Square, Ennis, Co. Clare, Ireland
T: + 353 65 682 3300 l F: + 353 65 682 3322 l info@templegatehotel.com
Avvio