Make a Reservation
Best Rate Guarantee >>
Arrive Nights
Special Offers Special Offers Special Offers Special Offers

Hotel Ennis Clare

Trip Advisor review November 2014

The Temple Gate Hotel was the venue for my 40th birthday party. The whole experience was wonderful for myself and all the guests. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend to any one looking for a venue for any type of party/event.

Trip Advisor review November 2014

From the minute of booking the hotel could not have been more helpful, upon arrival we were greeted and given are room cards.. rooms were immaculate and spacious. All front of house staff were so friendly and helpful , recommending the good pubs clubs etc . We ate from an early bird menu in the restaurant which was once again exceptional and great value and service in the busy restaurant. Breakfast was equally tasty with lots to choose from (fabulous pancakes).. We were very happy leaving after our stay over the bank holiday , Will definitely be returning for a weekend break.

Trip Advisor review November 2014

From the minute you walk in the door you can feel the friendly and welcoming atmosphere. And with parking outside the front door everything got off to a good start. As we had been out walking in Lahinch and got caught in a very heavy shower, we knew it was too early to check in but asked anyway. Not a problem we were told, with a lovely smile,and given a lovely room. Was there anything else they could do for us? No all good. the restaurant was lovely and warm and cosy with equally friendly staffs. There was a good choice on the menu,and the food portions were very big. It is litterally in the middle of the town with a pedestrian walkway to the main square, and beside the tourist office and museum. Also across the car park on the opposite side is a shopping centre

Trip Advisor review October 2014

This is a really unique hotel. They have preserved the beautiful interior spaces of this former convent. The restaurant and pub areas are wonderfully ornate. The food and service was very good. The room also had it's own unique touches and was quiet & comfortable. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the city centre of Ennis. Everything is in easy walking distance. The hotel (and Ennis,IE) is also conveniently close to Shannon airport, a quick 20 minutes down M18.

The staff are the best. They were all very friendly and helpful.
We had a delightful stay!

Trip Advisor review October 2014

From the minute of booking the hotel could not have been more helpful, upon arrival we were greeted and given are room cards.. rooms were immaculate and spacious. All front of house staff were so friendly and helpful , recommending the good pubs clubs etc . We ate from an early bird menu in the restaurant which was once again exceptional and great value and service in the busy restaurant. Breakfast was equally tasty with lots to choose from (fabulous pancakes).. We were very happy leaving after our stay over the bank holiday , Will definitely be returning for a weekend break.

Trip Advisor review October 2014

From the minute you walk in the door you can feel the friendly and welcoming atmosphere. And with parking outside the front door everything got off to a good start. As we had been out walking in Lahinch and got caught in a very heavy shower, we knew it was too early to check in but asked anyway. Not a problem we were told, with a lovely smile,and given a lovely room. Was there anything else they could do for us? No all good. the restaurant was lovely and warm and cosy with equally friendly staffs. There was a good choice on the menu,and the food portions were very big. It is litterally in the middle of the town with a pedestrian walkway to the main square, and beside the tourist office and museum. Also across the car park on the opposite side is a shopping centre

Trip Advisor review September 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Temple Gate Hotel for our first night in Ireland after arriving at Shannon Airport. The location near the airport is convenient; the location in town is perfect for walking around. The hotel backs onto a courtyard that adds to the charm, although if you have a room overlooking the courtyard, be advised that there will be some street noise from passersby (walking, not driving). Ennis itself has changed quite a bit since the first time we were there almost fifteen years ago; however, we wanted to crash because we always feel the jet lag most on that first day. When we arrived, we were a little early, so the manager very kindly offered to hold our bags for the 90 minutes it took to get our room ready. Hearing that our car would be "safe as a house" in the front lot, we opted to walk around town a bit and grabbed a spot of lunch. Returning to the hotel, we crashed in our room for a bit. The room was spacious enough for a town hotel, although a little worn. The bathroom had a HUGE tub, just right for a relaxing soak after a long day of travel. Desk staff were quite lovely and accommodating; the pub served great food and breakfast the next morning was grand. All in all, we prefer to stay in a B&B, and this in fact was our first hotel stay in our four trips to Ireland; however, it was an overall pleasant stay.

Trip Advisor review August 2014

This is the third year I have stayed at the Temple Gate Hotel in Ennis. The facilities are excellent, the dining room and bars are of a high standard and the rooms spacious and comfortable. That its located right in the centre of town without appearing to be is a blessing. Its quiet. Great car-parking, lift and everything you would expect in a modern busy hotel.


Trip Advisor review July 2014

Stayed two nights at this hotel. We have stayed in Ennis before but this hotel was far superior to the previous hotel. It has lovely high vaulted ceilings. We ate in the restaurant the first night and had an excellent meal of steak then went into the bar and listened to the band.
We also had two breakfast with a buffet of cereals, fruits and juices etc. You then chose from a menu, we had the full Irish, which was piping hot when served to you. Tea, coffee and toast were all served at the table. Bedrooms were a fair size with a good range of toiletries. We had two rooms on the ground floor overlooking the square and car park. As buses and coaches stop there it might be worth asking for a room at the rear of the hotel, although we did not find it noisy. On the second night we had a lovely meal just around the corner and the enjoyed the traditional music in the bar.

Trip Advisor review June 2014

We recently stayed at the Temple Gate Hotel for a quiet weekend away and had a fantastic experience.
The staff were very charming and attentive - a real asset to the hotel! They made us feel very welcome and looked after us throughout the whole stay.
We dined in the restaurant which was fabulous. The food was superb and served in a great surroundings. The breakfast choice was also great!
The room we stayed in was spacious and well decorated and the hotel itself is perfectly situated for exploring the stunning Irish West Coast.
We highky recommend this hotel and can't wait to come back!

Trip Advisor review June 2014

After getting hooked in a Hostel. We transferred to the temple Gate. The service, the rooms, the food, the bar and the staff could not do more for you. We enjoyed the surrounding area. They offered the bus tour from Ennis to Dublin right outside the front door. This is an no hassle place to stay. If I ever go again to Ireland I will stay here again. You can not go wrong.

Trip Advisor review June 2014

Disregard any negative reviews you may have read about the Temple Gate Hotel. The hotel was perfect, the staff attentive, the food delicious and the Guinness cold. This was the one inn we were hesitant about staying at after having read some of the reviews. We had a wonderful stay and everyone was helpful, kind and courteous. There is so much to see in this part of Ireland, and Temple Gate Hotel is a great place to stay throughout. We just couldn't see it all in three days, so we'll have to come back and pick up our travels from where we left them.

Trip Advisor review June 2014

The Temple Gate is located on a small square in downtown Ennis. My wife and I stayed there (although it's a bit above our preferred amount of money to spend on a room) upon arrival in Ireland, figuring that a quiet, quality hotel would be preferable to overcoming jet lag than a B&B where the walls can be thin. And we were right. It was a great place to stay. Very kindly, the hotel let us check in early. Very kindly, they upgraded our room to a suite (I don't know why, but they did so.) The room looked over a small square by the fine, free local museum. The pub adjoining the hotel is good. The room was spacious, very comfortable, quiet, clean, just what we needed...and right in the heart of Ennis (population 24000, about 20 minutes down the road from Shannon Airport). The front desk folks were friendly. Check out was easy and fast. It was a perfect place for us to stay for a couple nights

Trip Advisor review May 2014

A great place to stay in the area. Food is delicious, service is good, and literally next to the business district. Something for everyone whether it be shopping, dining, and sight seeing. There was a Dunnes next to the facility where you could pick up sundries and food items, or even do a little clothing shopping if you forgot something. Wish I could have seen the museum next door but hopefully my partner and I can do it next time we are there.

Trip Advisor review May 2014

Had a lovely 2 night stay in this Hotel. Hotel had own parking facilities and located in middle of Ennis so perfect location. Girl lovely on check-in. Rooms were lovely - spacious and generally clean (there was a stain on the duvet...don't want to know what it was....) but otherwise no complaints! Had drinks in the bar on the Sunday night which was nice. There was live entertainment (man singing). He was okay. Had breakfast there both mornings - no complaints! Breakfast served until 10 so of course we were nearly the last ones down both mornings - lot of buffet food gone when we came down the Monday morn but that was our own fault. On the Sunday we had the full Irish and the Monday the omlettes - quality good. Would recommend.

Trip Advisor review May 2014

We had another opportunity to stay at the Templegate in April. We were a group of 84 people from 18 to 80 years old. It was amazing how everyone on staff went out of their way to meet and exceed the needs of everyone in our group. To have such a large and diverse group uniformly happy with all accommodations is a rare and wonderful thing. As a group leader, it made things so much more pleasant for me. Having stayed here in the past, both with my family and with a large group, I can recommend the Templegate without reservation. Their focus is always on their guests.

Trip Advisor review April 2014

Visited the Temple Gate for food at the weekend with my in-laws. We decided to dine in the bar - great variety to chose from on the menu. We had barely sat down when a member of staff was over to greet us and take our order. The quality of the food and service was excellent . The bar food menu is also very reasonably priced. We will be back, next time to try the early bird in the Legends Restaurant. Thank you the Temple Gate for a great experience as always

Trip Advisor review April 2014

I stayed at the Temple Gate hotel in March for a family event over St. Patricks Day weekend. We started off with drinks in Preachers before 20 of us headed into Legends restaurant for dinner. The quality of the food and attentiveness of the staff was excellent and everyone was delighted by the evening. The hotel rooms were lovely, and fully deserving of 4 stars. After such a good experience I returned again this weekend for dinner in Legends which had a new a la carte menu on offer. Very reasonably priced & once again the food & service were wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for accommodation or just somewhere serving great food in a warm relaxing atmosphere

Trip Advisor review April 2014

We stayed with friends for hen. Rooms are nice, clean and comfy. Staff are very friendly and very helpfull. Hotel is right in the centre of Ennis which is great. You have everything you need just behind the corner.

Trip Advisor review April 2014

I have returned with a group to the Temple Gate for the second year in a row. This hotel is a must for anyone staying in the West of Ireland. The restaurant is phenomenal! The food is fresh, inventive, and delicious. The staff is always gracious and welcoming, whether they are serving a large party or small. If you stay here, do plan on dining in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. The pub in the hotel is lovely, the rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. The reception staff and reservations are excellent.

Trip Advisor review March 2014

We stayed here on the recommendation of a lady in the cafe at Aillwee cave. Friendly and family run was how she portrayed it so we decided to have a look. From the start the staff could not have been more helpful. Having sorted out the rooms we, half jokingly, said that we'd only come for the Craic. The receptionist, Claire, immediately pointed us in the direction of Brogan's and even offered to ring the bar to see if there was live music that night. We did indeed look around the town that (very wet) night in a hunt for a Mussel meal but in the event found what we wanted back at the hotel in Preachers Pub. The hotel is on the site of, and bits of it were part of, a convent and this theme is carried into Preachers. It's a cross between a pub and a church, if such a thing is possible. Breakfast is in the Legends restaurant and in our case was served both mornings by an absolutely charming Asian lady who simply couldn't do enough! Was the coffee too strong/to weak, was the toast done enough/ not enough? In either case she needn't have worried, everything was fine. The rooms were spacious, clean an comfortable, this is a wonderful hotel and if I'm ever back in Ennis this is where I'll stay.

Trip Advisor review March 2014

We stayed at the Temple Gate Hotel for 2 nights in December 2013. We checked in early, and checked out the visitor center next door and had lunch in the hotel pub at the suggestion of the front desk. The room was spacious and comfortable, and a nice change of pace from the b&b's we had been staying in. Breakfast was nice, but simple. The real stand out for us was the staff. We stayed in Ennis with the intention of driving to the Cliffs of Moher, which had been closed due to weather during our stay. The front desk staff knew we were hoping to make that trip, and gave us updates throughout our stay. While exploring the city in the evening, we were stopped by a hotel staff member who recognized us just to check and make sure that we were finding everything ok. We would stay at the Temple Gate Hotel again, and would not hesitate to recommend it to our family and friends.

Trip Advisor review February 2014

The Temple Gate Hotel is located in the heart of Ennis within walking distance of places to eat and shop. The hotel is very nice and there is a pub and restaurant on site. The hotel staff was very nice and we totally enjoyed our two night stay. The pub and restaurant serves very good food at a reasonable price.

Trip Advisor review January 2014

Just back from a nights stay in this hotel. We had an absolutely fab time. The rooms were very clean and warm. The staff were so friendly,especially Catherine at reception. We dined in and had excellent meal. The wait staff were really attentive and efficient at both dinner and breakfast. The hotel is located right in the middle of town which is so convenient for hitting the local pubs. On return to the hotel we enjoyed a night cap in the 'library' which is a lovely room with comfy sofas. Great value for money. Will definitely return. Cannot think of single bad comment!!

Trip Advisor review 1 October 2013

Recently stayed in the temple gate hotel. This was our second visit there this year. I cannot praise the staff in the hotel enough. They are so friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel is also very good value. The hotel is located a minute from the centre of town so it's extremely convenient. We will be back. Teresa k

 Trip Advisor review 22 September 2013

We had a lovely week here and were very impressed with the friendly professional service we received throughout our holiday. This hotel in right in the centre of Ennis and therefore you will not need a car to visit the local sites or go out at night which is really helpful.

The rooms are clean and nice. There is plenty of space for three adults. There was plenty of choice in the breakfast menus and they were all lovely. The Preachers Bar is great with nice pub grub and often great music too. I would definitely recommend it.

 Trip Advisor review 18 September 2013

Only spent one night here while on a CIE Tour. We found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating. Surely would have enjoyed more time. The town was delightful with many shops to explore. My husband and I enjoyed an early morning walk- my excuse to photograph the town without dodging people. The town was pristine and lovely. Would love to return someday.

Trip Advisor review 16 September 2013

My wife and I and a friend spent one night here and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is
located right in the heart of Ennis one half block from its main thoroughfare. Was very impressed
with the hotel with internet available throughout the hotel. The Preacher's Pub was outstanding
with great food as well as drinks. Would come here again.

 Trip Advisor review 9 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We were meeting with relative’s home from America and this was a convenient location for all of us to meet. We found the staff very friendly and efficient. We eat in the bar while watching the All-Ireland Hurling Final. The food was very good and piping hot, as you would expect. The room was comfortable and spacious. In the morning we all had the Full Irish cooked breakfast. There was also a good selection of breads, cereals and fruit. The hotel is located in what used to be a convent and is tastefully decorated to enhance the arches and other beautiful features of the former convent. My American relatives were very impressed, also, with the decor. We will be back.

 Trip Advisor review 1 September 2013

Just stayed for one night but wished it could have been longer. The hotel is ideally located near everything that matters in Ennis. There is secure parking at the hotel & the centre is a mere one minute walk from the Hotel. The bar is staffed by smartly dressed young people who provide a great service with a smile. The food is also very good in the bar but if you want to try elsewhere there are lots of other places within short walking distance. The breakfast is excellent & again there is great variety & nothing seems to be a problem for the pleasant waitresses. Last but not least, the accommodation is spacious, clean & comfortable with very good en-suite. I will look forward to returning to the Templegate.

 Trip Advisor review 29 August 2013

It was a rainy day and we were trying to get from the DinglePeninsula to the Cliffs of Mohr. However, we decided to stay in Ennis and just wait on the weather. The people at the TempleGate were fabulous, as was our room. The hotel was originally a convent and the decor, Gothic arches, stained glass windows and beautiful wood added to the ambiance. It was a perfect location and respite from the rain as well as B&Bs (where we wouldn't have felt as comfortable just lounging around the day watching TV). Claire, at the front desk, went out of her way to make our stay special.

 Trip Advisor review 27 August 2013

Stayed in The Temple Gate for 3 nights over the Aug bank holiday weekend with my husband. The location is amazing just off the Main Street.
Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was spotless with a nice view over looking the court yard. Ate in bar on 2 nights which was tasty.
Ennis is a lovely place to go out in with lots of nice bars and restaurants. It is a great base for sightseeing around Clare. Would recommend The Temple Gate Hotel.

 Trip Advisor review 27 August 2013

A very good welcome after a long day flying & a full day’s work. Good room & really nice staff, the menu was not over long & choice was just right .Breakfast really set me up for the days tasks. Did not need to eat again all day.

 Trip Advisor review 26 August 2013

We called in here on the off-chance of a twin room - the Ennis Tourist Office is closed on Mondays.... The receptionist was wonderfully helpful, a real professional and she loves her job too!! Our twin room was very clean, functional and literally 2 seconds walk from the one-way streets of Ennis. The hotel is a former convent and there are still indications of its' previous life - very evocative. Neither of us could fully partake of the breakfast spread which looked appetising, and the hot selection was freshly cooked to order. Would definitely visit again - and hopefully stay well enough to enjoy a breakfast!

Trip Advisor review 25 August 2013

The TempleGate is right in the downtown of Ennis on a square. The rooms are pleasant and well decorated, the staff nice and the location great. The best find is that the pub attached to the hotel, Preacher’s Pub, has excellent food.

Trip Advisor review 22 August 2013

My wife and i stayed in the Temple Gate Hotel for two nights last weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Very pleasant and friendly staff, beautiful clean and comfortable rooms and great food. We will be back Terry.... Co Meath

Trip Advisor review 19 August 2013

We just returned from a road trip in Ireland and stayed at the temple gate for two nights as it was close to the attractions and airport. Upon check in my group of 5 (4 rooms) were all upgraded to the Executive floor. I had emailed quite a bit with this hotel before choosing it and I was not disappointed. The staff was friendly and very helpful. breakfast was great and the stay could not have been better. The Hotel is within walking distance to shops, restaurants and of course pubs. Outstanding value. We would stay here again!!

Trip Advisor review 12 August 2013

Absolutely wonderfully lovely hotel, ideal situation for the town, very friendly and helpful staff, the restaurant was excellent, very good value, can highly recommend this family run hotel. Should be a five star hotel as other people have commented. Our room was very comfortable. Would love to return one day again. especially special is the chapel which looks ideal for weddings.

Trip Advisor review 12 August 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel - very near to everything in the centre of town. Ennis is a very charming town near ShannonAirport also near the Cliffs of Moher. Our room was large (two twin beds), very nice and clean. Restaurant was great for breakfast. The pub looked very nice but we were too tired from traveling to experience it. Staff was very pleasant. This hotel was recently renovated. Would definitely recommend this to others!

Trip Advisor review 11 August 2013

Stayed at the TempleGate for two nights in April 2013. This hotel is in an excellent central location in Ennis, close to the city centre and next door to a large shopping complex. Hotel staff were more than accommodating. Rooms were large and spotless. The pub on premises has superb food and a great atmosphere. Would stay here again and recommend the place highly.

Trip Advisor review 6 August 2013

Really nice hotel right beside Ennis Main Street. Staff were helpful, room was very nice and breakfasts were great too. Lovely wooden ceilings in some of the areas of the hotel e.g. bar. Difficult to find fault with this establishment and I can certainly recommend it for a stay in Ennis. 

 "Great hotel - relaxed stay" 

I stayed at this hotel recently on a business trip. The reception staff were very helpful. My room was a little chilly when I arrived in the early evening but I rang reception and this was quickly rectified. The room was very clean and comfortable, just perfect after a very long day, travelling to Ireland early morning and then working. It was also nice and quiet despite looking onto the square.
The shops were nearby especially a Dunnes store which stayed open till late, very handy should you need anything.
I ate in the bar both evenings, the food was really nice especially the chowder with Irish Soda Bread and the Baileys Cheesecake Mmm! 
Breakfast was in the main restaurant, there was a variety of cereal, fruit and juices. Also a choice for cooked breakfast. 
I would definately recommend this hotel. 

Trip Advisor (Trip Advisor February 2013)

 "Great Hotel - excellent service"

I had to travel last Sunday in order to be in Ennis for an early Monday meeting so I was already grumpy when I arrived. The receptionist politely ignored this grumpiness, went out of her way to get me checked in quickly and efficiently and was always pleasant and professional.
The room was warm and pleasant, the meeting areas around reception are quiet and perfect for relaxing. The Hotel itself is located right in the heart of Ennis - one of a small number of towns in Ireland where a visit is absolutely mandatory. 

Trip Advisor (February 2013) 

"Comfortable hotel and friendly staff!"

Stayed here for one mid-week night when the hotel was understandably quiet. The bar had a good variety of dishes and the 8oz steak was very enjoyable. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly from the reception, bar and breakfast room the following morning. The ecclesiastical decor in the bar is a bit over the top but overall my experience was very good and I would recommend this hotel to others

Trip Advisor (February 2013)

 Hi Kate!

Well we survived the weekend in Ennis!! Everyone had an amazing time!

I just want to thank you & the staff at the hotel for making our weekend so special! Everyone was so friendly & helpful. The food was amazing, the rooms & beds were comfy and the location was excellent!!We were all were all really impressed & will definitely stay again hopefully in the near future and recommend it to friends & family!

If you have a mailing list for special offers would you please include my email address?

Hotel guest (January 2013)

 

“Best Value in Ennis”

The hotel is right bang in the middle of Ennis. It is next to the Clare Museum and the main street just at the foot of Daniel O' Connell's statue. Secure parking and very welcoming lobby. Check in was quick and we were in our room in 5 minutes. Room was immaculate and cosy. We ate twice in the hotel. Once during the day for bar food which was nice and light, and also at night for their Dinner Special. This was fabulous value. Four courses for €20.13. I know that this was a special offer, but the was no sparing in the effort made.
The hotel has some lovely touches that impressed. The library was a relaxing room for a read or a coffee. The long room is an old chapel that has been converted in to a conference/wedding venue with magnificient stained glass windows. It is on the site of a Poor Claire's nunnery and retains some of the original features.
We had lovely two day stay and would recommend it highly to family and friends.

Trip Advisor (February 2013)

 

“Great food and service” 

We had dinner on Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed it. My better half is vegetarian but really enjoyed her entire meal which is certainly not always the case in other establishments especially when the veggie options are more limited. I had a lamb dish which incorporated breaded goats cheese balls and was truly delicious! The service is excellent from the restaurant manager and his team who are attentive but not overbearing. Very well run by all involved. We have eaten in this restaurant before but I never reviewed it so this is the first! I would recommend it to anyone and also Preachers pub next door in the hotel. Just a note, there is an amazing offer in place for January 2013 of a 4 course meal for just €20.13 per person! 

Trip Advisor (January 2013)

 

"best hotel we stayed in yet"

stay for our honeymoon on the 17/1/13 until 20/1/13, fabulous hotel wonderful staff and the food OMG, was exceptional, so much so we ate there all the time. the rooms are brilliantly equipped hair dryer ironing board etc. (maybe a bit to warm) .. really and truly couldn't fault the place. the hotel itself is very central in the town and it has its own parking.. would highly recommend this hotel to all.

 Trip Advisor (January 2013)

 

"Top class food and service" 

went to meet friends and had dinner from the 2013 special menu. could not fault it,it was exceptional value and top quaility. the service was outstanding and i will definitly be back and would recommend to everyone in ennis to give it a go you will not be dissappointed....... 

Trip Advisor (January 2013)

 

"Couldn't fault it"

Stayed for a Hen weekend last weekend and couldn't fault the place. There was a number of girls there for 2 nights, a few of us could only make it for one night and they only charged us per person instead of per room which was great!
Very reasonably priced, we got b&b and a 3 course dinner which was delicious. The wait staff were lovely, especially Jim from Malaysia...he was so friendly and helpful!!!
The brekkie was delicious. Very central location so within walking distance for everything!!Would definitely recommend it!

 Trip Advisor (January 2013)

 

"Great value hotel with wonderful staff"

The Temple Gate is a great value hotel right in the heart of a great small town on the west of Ireland. Check in was a breeze, the room was cozy and bright, parking was free, and wifi was available right throughout the hotel for free. Being so central means you can visit the many bars in town for a pint, and enjoy the traditional music sessions without worrying about the cost of a taxi fare back to an out of town hotel. 
Breakfast the next morning was filling and set us up for the journey ahead. I highly recommend Ennis as a great tourist spot, and strongly recommend the Temple Gate as a great place to stay for your trip.

 Trip Advisor (Decemeber 2012)

 

"Lovely staff and good food"

I only stay for one nght for business, but i must admit the welcome was great and so was the food. Room are clean and proably been updated recently, Will definetly stay there the next time.Hope to revisit the place in january 2013.

Trip Advisor (December 2012)

 

Hi Kate

Apologies for being so tardy in dropping a note to say "thank you" yet again for the customary hospitality shown by all at The Temple Gate - one of these days perhaps we'll meet in person!.  It was a memorable trip and one that will linger long in the memory.Say hello to Dermot for me (I think it was Dermot - one of your managers) - he was most helpful - most appreciated.

 

Kind regards

Tom (Hotel Guest November 2012)

 

 

"Great Location"

This hotel is "town central." Everything is close by/walking distance. We actually had dinner in the hotel at the pub and found it much better than we experienced elsewhere -- plus the atmosphere was great! There was a hurling match in town and many of the players were there -- great fun. The rooms were very comfortable (king bed!) and there is good wifi reception. Overall the staff was very accomodating, especially Natasha, who took extra care with our requests. If you plan on visiting the Cliffs of Moher, this is a good base. Also, if arriving from an international flight and sleep deprived, Ennis is a short drive.

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

 “Consistent comfort and hospitality, THE place to stay in Ennis”

In the last 5 years I have stayed 6 times at the Temple Gate Hotel and find it to be comfortable and welcoming every single time. My recent November 2012 visit was no exception. Its central location makes it perfect for exploring and town and environs. On site parking is a plus. The staff are pleasant and accommodating to special requests, e.g. storing bags, flexible check in/out, tips for nearby restaurants and services. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Preachers pub has a good all day menu with variety of dishes at decent prices. The recent addition of free wifi in all guest rooms seals the deal.

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

 “Great service and overall standards!”

We recently stayed in this hotel for one night. From the moment we walked through the door until the moment we left we were made to feel so welcome. We found our room to be excellent and the bed was super comfortable. What makes this place so special is the friendly staff and the very welcoming atmosphere. The food served in the bar ( we didn't have a chance to try the fine dining restaurant but will certainly try that on our next visit) as well as breakfast the next morning was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the lovely town of Ennis and we will certainly be back!

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

“Superb stay at a wonderful hotel, lovely Irish experience”

We spent the weekend at this lovely, cosy hotel. Very nice interior, and excellent high quality food at Preachers restaurant, with beautiful plates, sirloin steaks from the region, burren smoked salmon and great wine collection.


Next to that the staff has been wonderful to us and we have enjoyed every single minute of our stay. Definitely back here with more trips to the cliffs of moher and the Burren.

 Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

"Surprising stay"

A recent short notice trip resulted in me booking this little gem of a hotel at short notice.

From the phone call booking to the pleasant reception on arrival, I couldn't have been made more welcome. I felt they were falling over me to ensure I had all I needed.
The room was just fantastic, warm and welcoming.
I decided to try the Preachers bar for dinner( I had been given a 10% discount voucher on arrival)
Again, the staff we very warm and welcoming, the food was just great. the atmosphere was pleasant and the background music relaxing.
Breakfast next morning was freshly made from a choice selection, with plenty of tea and coffee and fresh fruits and hot baked goods.
I was so impressed, I plan to bring my wife very soon to this gem of a hotel.

 Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

"Friendly, attentive staff and great central location in Ennis"

Stayed for a long weekend during the Ennis Trad Festival. Excellent central location for exploring the town. Clean & tidy hotel with pleasant, friendly staff.
Our double room was on the 3rd floor and was an adequate size with a comfortable bed and tidy modern decor. 
Food served both in the Preacher's Bar and in the restaurant was of a good standard and reasonably priced. 
Very pleasant stay. Would recommend.

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

We throughly enjoyed our recent stay with you. We had a long overnight drive from Wales and your staff were very helpful in getting the room ready for us. We stayed with you for three nights, during which time the staff were very pleasant and accommodating, nothing was too much for them. The food was great and the rooms were spotless. Overall it was fantastic and we would not hesitate in staying again.

Many thanks,

Hotel guest (November 2012)

 

 "Great location, lovely hotel"

Stayed here for 1 night. The hotel is very centrally located, only a minute from O'Connell Street. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. There was free parking too. We had a very enjoyable stay!

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

"Central, brill weekend"

Stayed in this hotel Sat night 6th October with a group of girls. Rooms were beautiful and spotlessly clean. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and you couldn't possibly get any more central !!! Will definately be returning for another stay.

Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 

"Weekend perfection"

Temple gate hotel -what a treat - bedrooms so comfy!!!! Duck down duvet, dressing gowns etc.

Bar/bar food - staff were excellent even though they were extremely busy - they were good craic.
Crock of Mussels -mmmmmmmmm delicious, chicken lovely and tender..
Reception staff were lovely and very helpful. The night porter had probably the busier job of he weekend yet he was pretty much unfazed -well done staff f Temple Gate Hotel!!!

 Trip Advisor (November 2012)

 
"Clean and new"
 
Arriving in Ennis not having booked anywhere to stay we stumbled across the Temple Gate hotel and were able to book a room at a reasonable price. It was a change from the B & B's we had been staying in with minimalist decor. The hotel has a luxurious feel with very comfortable beds and fluffy towels. Breakfast was included and was adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

"Wonderful wedding venue"

I visited this hotel for the first time in march for my cousins wedding and from the minute we entered the hotel i was impressed with the place the great hall is amazing the staff were were very accommodating no matter what we asked for we got. also there was a cake for a family birthday which we brought along and the manager brought it out in great time. a wonderful day and night was had by all. thank you to all the staff in the temple gate hotel for a fantastic stay and i shall be back. And not to forget the very comfortable rooms. Guys and Girls you all do a brilliant job and keep up the hard work

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

"Hen night"

We had my sisters hen night on Oct 6th and we stayed in Temple gate 24 of us. We had a fantastic experience here, hotel is well located in the centre of Ennis.Rooms are lovely Staff are brilliant everyone was so friendly and helpful. We had evening meal which was divine and then we did a cocktail making class which was mighty fun. Highly recommend the hotel we had a brill weekend.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

“Dinner”

Our group of 4 were so well treated by a fabulous Italian waiter on Tuesday night 9th October this year. The food was to die for and the service and value were beyond words. An excellent night was had by all

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

“Great Hotel, Best staff ever.”

    We were on a group weekend away. The location of the hotel is the best in Ennis, accessible parking and the hotel is in the centre of the town. The staff were brilliant and did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)
 
 
 
"Lovely hotel, great food"

Stayed here on a Saturday had a lovely day in the Hotel we had lunch in the bar and then had dinner in the hotel restaurant the food was fab, the rooms are lovely, staff very friendly, would recommend this hotel.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)
 
 
"Very relaxing"

we stayed in this hotel Friday & Saturday and the first thing i noticed was the reception staff who were very pleaesent and entusiastic, the room was of a very high standard. The bar was very spacious and the barfood excellent. This is the 1st time we have been in Ennis and this hotel and we cant wait to go back next year.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)
 
 
"A Wonderful Experience"

Seven Adults + two Babies and a most wonderful experience in dining in Legends Restaurant- the Restaurant of the Templegate Hotel, Ennis, Co. Clare, tonight 6th. October 2012. All of us had wonderful starters and main courses and desserts. Speaking for myself, I had delicious Cod in a Saffron and White Wine Sauce - succulent. Thank God for a change of Vegetables from Brocolli, Cauliflour and Carrots, served in so many restaurants - tonight was celery and courgettes, with baby potatoes. The only complaint that I would have is, I couldn't eat the plate. The rest of the party had sirloin steaks, cooked exactly to their requirements and the look of pleasure on their faces, showed satisfaction of the highest order. All this was" washed" down with very reasonably priced Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. On arrival we were welcomed by the charming and friendly Catherine ( Receptionist ) and then by Antonio ( Maitre'D of the highest standards and friendliness ) and served by Michael from Belmullet ( oozing in efficiency and friendliness ). There was another Lady and Gent served us too, but unfortunately I didn't get their names, but part of this highly efficient and friendly team. All this was supervised by the very " Hands - on " Owner Mr. John Madden. Thank You for a wonderful Meal and wish you continued success.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

“Best-located Hotel in Ennis, Best Staff in Ireland”

Stayed here Saturday night with visitors from the USA. Was an short taxi ride to our medieval banquet in Knappogue Castle (Quin), and a perfect place to land on a Saturday, as it is a 1min walk to the beautiful, winding streets of Ennis. Market on a Saturday in the market place. Buzzing with activity. Hotel itself is amazing. On the site of an old church, so stained glass window still on site, hotel bar named Preachers Pub also decorated on same church theme. Rooms super clean and modern, tasteful decor. Cooked breakfast top notch. Reception staff exceptionally helpful, especially on Sunday, when the tourist office across the street was closed! Wished we had stayed longer!

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

"Very nice place to stay"

 We only stayed one night in Ennis, but the Temple Gate Hotel proved to be a very good choice. It is a hotel and not an inn, but the scale is fairly small and the property is very well maintained. We found the staff professional and friendly and the rooms very comfortable. We only ate a lunch meal in the pub and it was good. Definitely a good stay and recommend to anyone not looking for a B&B experience.

Trip Advisor (October 2012)

 

"Coach trip"

Recently 38 of us from our Active Retirement Group travelled to Co Clare with JMG Travel of Donegal using this hotel as our base. What an excellent choice, such an agreeable staff, such comfort in the rooms and such enjoyable menus. The hotel itself was previously a church, the building is so interesting and the receptionist is more than willing to give out some printed information on the history of the building. The hotel is very conveniently situated to the town and the Clare Museum is in the next building so no lack of things to do close at hand.

Trip Advisor (September 2012)

 

"Family Owned First Rate Attention to Weary Traveller"

We flew from San Francisco to Boston into Shannon Airport and stayed at the Temple Gate for a couple of nights upon our arrival in Ireland. They knew we had flown all night and were able to give us an early check-in, at no extra charge, and treated us like family from the start. The owner John Madden or son Paul were on-site regularly and Catherine, Kate and Graem took great care of us. The pub was lively, the restaurant convenient and served good food, and when we returned at the end of our trip, it was like a homecoming! Lovely hotel, close to Shannon Airport, great staff.

Trip Advisor (September 2012)

 

"Good hotel centre of town"

Myself and my wife stayed here in may.A very good hotel in the centre of town. There is plenty of free parking in front of the hotel.Reception staff were friendly and offered us tickets to a show in town.The room was excellent.Food was very good especially in the bar.The hotel is just off the main street and 25 minutes to the seaside.Overall a great place to stay

Trip Advisor (September 2012)

 

We had dinner the Legends Restaurant last Saturday night for our sisters 30th birthday. Having never eaten there before I was nervous as of what to expect.  Although we were seated in the main restaurant, it felt like we had our private function room. The food was superb and best of all the staff were very attentive and courteous. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and will definitely return again.Thank you

Dining guest (September 2012)

 

"Excellent food - great service- nice staff"

 Have eaten here on a few occasions. Food is lovely and very fresh. Lovely atmosphere in Restaurant, nice decor, very comfortable. Italian waiter so pleasant! This restaurant is within the Temple Gate Hotel which is in the centre if town. Would recommend for the food and the pleasant surroundings. Nice bar atmosphere also with lovely staff and very good bar food also. 

Trip Advisor (Septemeber 2012)

 

“FANTASTIC!!!!!”

I was staying in Ennis with friends & they suggested we visit Legends restaurant in the Temple Gate hotel. We got there early to enjoy a few drinks in the bar which was lovely, the staff were all very polite, friendly & nice to deal with and advised us when our table was ready and brought through our drinks for us. We had ordered from the set menu & didnt expect anything amazing but it really was fantastic. I ordered the soup which was beautiful & filling, and my husband ordered the chowder and he said it was one of the best he had tasted!! We then both ordered steak for our mail and they were both cooked to perfection. The dessert's were also beautiful but unfortunately thanks to the steak being so wonderful I was too full & couldnt finish mine!! The staff were really fantastic & very attentive, the restaurant manager Antonio looked after us all night and had a wealth of knowledge about all the different wine's they stocked, my husband was delighted with this.

Overall our experience with both the hotel & Legends restaurant was nothing short of perfect, wonderful food, amazing staff, beautiful setting - nothing more we could ask for, we will definitley be back, thanks

Tip: Ask Antonio to recommend wine to go with your choice of food, he really knows what he is talking about.

Trip Advisor (September 2012)

 

"Lovely staff and food"

Stayed here at the weekend, was lovely hotel centrally located in the town centre, lovely staff, great food in the Legends restaurant, nice decor and clean room 
Will stay again and would recommend this to anyone
Free parking aswell which is good for town centre hotel
Special thanks to Kate for looking after us and Catherine(i think on reception) both very nice.

Trip Advisor (September 2012)

 

"What a pleasure"

I stayed in your beautiful  hotel from august 3 to 8th from the United States.Your staff are superb.I sleep in a chair, your people brought a chair from the library to my room making my nights sleep a pleasure.(sleeping in the library was great to).The ladies in the breakfast room were always useful with great service.the Temple Gate was so clean I was envious. Your front desk staff could  just good a person to believe life was a bowl of cherries. The night gentleman had a way of making a weary non sleeper feel I was right at home.The Preachers Pub was a merry place to rest up before and after daily rigors out and about(plus there were no preachers there). There was a girl who came in early in the morning whom I asked if she lived at the hotel,she answered that she had a shack in the back alley,her wit was a pleasure to a fast tongued guy like me( I can get a wise crack out before your next breath). So as my last day came to pass and an employee said good by to me I realized I will not believe there are good byes at Temple Gate, just happiness and good health to all.

Hotel guest (August 2012)

 

"Excellent Hotel"

 We booked for 3 days but enjoed our stay so much we stayed on another two. The location of the hotel is superb - right in the middle of the town with free parking for guests. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby but it would hard to find better than the hotel's own pub and restaurant. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are bright and clean and you will not find a more comfortable mattress anywhere! Fantastic hotel!!
Pat

Trip Advisor (August 2012)

 

"Excellent hotel in a lovely little town"

 I recently stayed at the Temple Gate Hotel and really enjoyed it. It is a very nice hotel, in a great location. 
The staff were very friendly. Very nice and clean rooms. A very convenient parking was available for our car at no extra charge. Breakfast was very good. There are a pub and a restaurant on the premises. We did not try the restaurant, but the pub was lovely: very nice food and great atmosphere.
I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore county Clare.

Trip Advisor (August 2012)

 

Dear staff,

Having stayed in your hotel last week for two nights, we just wanted to write a quick note to thank you for making our stay a highly enjoyable and pleasant one.  The staff were so friendly and accommodating and the food in both the bar and the restaurant was of an extremely high quality. We greatly enjoyed our stay, and will certainly be back in the future and will have no hesitation in recommending the Temple Gate to friends and family.

Thanking you, 

Hotel Guests (August 2012) 

 

“Courteous staff and efficient management”

Stayed here with family and friends for three days this week. From the moment of check-in we were treated with the utmost efficiency.Ambience throughout is warm, and the general manager is a thorough professional. Looking forward to my next visit already.

Trip Advisor (Trip Advisor 2012)

 

“wonderful Hotel!”

My family have just spent a wonderful few days in Ireland, our first stop was in Ennis, we stayed at The temple Gate Hotel, what a lovely hotel! We thouroughly recommend staying here. The rooms are lovely and clean, the hotel staff are very friendly. The Poachers bar is a real treat if you want a bar snack and a drink. We didn't dine in the restaurant, but we had breakfast both mornings and again this was lovely. We will definately stay again!!

Trip Advisor (August 2012)

 

"I would go back there in a minute"

the temple gate hotel was *a dream* of a boutique hotel! the room was spic and span, spacious and welcoming, the bathroom nice and roomy.... the hotel is historically themed, the staff welcoming and efficient. we loved the pub, we loved the town of ennis -- it was a perfect first night's stay in ireland -- almost a honeymoon!

Trip Advisor (August 2012)

Refreshingly old-fashioned hotel in the really charming town of Ennis. Excellent restaurant too, with incredibly friendly staff.

Booking.com (July 2012)
 
 
"That extra mile"
 
My wife and I have been watching Eurovision every year since we first moved to Ireland in 1996. Some experiences, as well as the performances, better than others. This year was one of the better as we settled into the Preachers Pub for 7 hours of viewing over three nights.
The staff was very accommodating in keeping the TV sound at a level we could hear over the normal chatting crowd, that is a rarity for non-sporting events. They also participated with us and the few other watchers in commenting on the show. We felt very comfortable.
Of course the pints were good as well as the desserts we had. We have yet to eat a meal at this pub but are encouraged by what we saw on neighbouring tables. We will be back for sure, even before next May's Eurovision.
Trip Advisor (May 2012)


"Top Class Bar Food"
 
Preacher's Bar is nothing like your regular hotel bar and has a really nice decor and atmosphere. I have eaten here on a few occasions and have always enjoyed the food. I find it very convenient to meet friends for a chat and there is a very good selection on the menu. 
Last night I ate there and had chicken goujons which were delicious while my friend had a club sandwich which was massive.
Overall a very convenient place to eat in the centre of Ennis

Trip Advisor (May 2012)

 

"Perfect"

Hotel was very stylish and attractive. Fantastic location, just off the towns main street. Rooms were very cosy- clean and warm, beds very comfortable. No complaints at all.

Trip Advisor (July 2012)

 

"Pleasant Surprise"

 I booked this hotel after searching for accommodation in Ennis on the internet. In my experience it always looks better on the internet than in reality. This was the other way around. What a pleasant surprise: location, friendly reception, nice clean room with modern furnishings and more space than expected. We absolutely loved it and wished we could have stayed longer.

Trip Advisor (July 2012)

 

The staff was wonderful. Clare & Catherine at the front desk were exceptional. Location is ideal, very quiet yet in the charming old-town centre. Pubs, shops and centuries old architecture are right out the door. The decor is charming & European, not fancy but still very nice. I thought the price was quite reasonable. Fabulous, hearty breakfast is available, which I had every morning. Every morning a 1-hr walking tour left from the front of the hotel; I highly recommend taking it for its fascinating titbits of the town's history

Booking.com (July 2012)

 

”Great stay”

We were in the hotel as part of a Globus tour also and found the hotel clean, charming, and very comfortable. Not sure when others were at Temple Gate, but we did not experience any of the things others did at this hotel. The porters were incredibly quick with a huge amount of luggage on our trip. Our room was clean and well-appointed. The staff, with the exception of one front desk clerk, were all happy and quite helpful. Any question we had was answered kindly. 

The service in the pub and restaurant mirrored the service we had elsewhere in Ireland. Coming from the US we are accustomed to quicker service, but overall, there was nothing to complain about. The food in Preacher's Pub was outstanding! 

We stayed at 5 different hotels on this trip to Ireland and Temple Gate was one of my favourites!

Trip Advisor (July 2012) 

 

 “Great hotel”

My wife , sister in law and her husband stayed in the Temple Gate on Sat 30th Feb, the welcome we received was very friendly, check in was fast, the room was large and very clean , the decor was bright and warm, we had. A light meal in the bar, service was fast , food hot, the music in the. Bar was great , very lively and not to loud, the staff were very helpful and friendly, Claire at the front desk was very helpful, the hotel was so central to Ennis town , a few minutes walk from hotel, 
overall we had a great stay, would highly recommend the Temple Gate Hotel, will stay there again.

Trip Advisor (July 2012)

 

”Good hotel for first night in Ireland”

We drove here from the Shannon airport. The hotel was comfortable and clean.Kate at the front desk was helpful with directions. The hotel was close to groceries, pubs and coffee shops. It was an easy drive to make a loop to Cliffs of Moher, Doolin, Black head and back.

Trip Advisor (July 2012)

 

Loved the staff. Of all the accommodations I stayed at in Ireland I loved Temple Gate the most, mainly because of the staff. Staff gave clear direction on everything from where the main streets were to what was happening in the town during the week. Location was great, directly across from the tourism office. Free wi-fi in lobby. Room was always tidy and warm. Bar and restaurant attached to hotel

Booking.com (June 2012)

 

"Lovely, great location, extra great staff"

Hotel was formerly a convent and its character is maintained in function rooms, dining room, lobby and library. Well-marked as you approach it, parking lot, and courtyard that practically dumps you into the center of town. Food was good, rooms spacious but no frills. Family run the staff is terrific. We were there as a family and thoroughly enjoyed it.

 

Trip Advisor (June 2012)

 </s

What our guests say
Room upgrade
Signup for newsletter
Image Gallery
The Temple Gate Hotel, The Square, Ennis, Co. Clare, Ireland
T: + 353 65 682 3300 l F: + 353 65 682 3322 l info@templegatehotel.com
Avvio